County Board makes adjustments during reorganizational meeting

January 6, 2019

It was a full house just before 9 a.m. Thursday inside the Platte County Board of Supervisors chambers.

At least a dozen county employees elected or re-elected during November’s general election took their oaths of office under the guidance of District Court Judge Robert Steinke and County Clerk Diane Pinger.

It was all part of the yearly reorganizational board of supervisors meeting, where board roles were voted upon, two new elected members joined the governing body and future standing committees were discussed.

“It’s required by the state that the county meets at least once a year, and the purpose is just to reorganize standing committees that need to be filled and several other groups we have to have a representative on,” said District 6 Supervisor Jerry Engdahl, who was elected to serve as the board’s chairman for another term. “So reorganization is just that, reorganizing, and this year is particularly important since we have two new board members.”

Those two new members are District 7 Supervisor Kim Kwapnioski and District 1 Supervisor Fred Liss. During the meeting, Kwapnioski was appointed to serve on the Board of Central Community College, Central Nebraska Community Service Board and liaison to the Platte County Visitors Bureau.

“I think just with my past experience in working with the tourism/visitors bureau … and my background in health and human services and working with the community, I think that I can bring a lot to the table,” Kwapnioski said following the meeting. “Hopefully, I will be able to be a great representative (on those boards) for the county supervisors.”

Liss, who served as the county’s highway supervisor for several years, said he’s looking forward to contributing to the community in new ways.

“I worked for the county for a lot of years, but it’s a little bit different being on this side of the fence,” Liss said, with a laugh. “But yes, I am excited to take on some of these responsibilities that I was assigned today.”

Liss was nominated and elected to serve as liaison to the Platte County Nebraska Extension Office, as well as to represent Platte County on the East Central District Health Board.

Engdahl during the meeting had the opportunity – if he wished – to make his selections for standing committees, however, he decided to table this until the body’s Jan. 8 meeting. He did propose, though, that the 10 standing committees be consolidated into six committees – a change from previous years.

This would simply take certain existing committees and fit them under the umbrella of another, when and where it makes sense.

“The concept is that we have 10 standing committees now, and some of them meet once a year, so it’s kind of silly to have that as (its) own bracket … all I did was (propose to) incorporate some of the less active committees in with the very active committees because, in most cases, they have the same membership.”

Other action that was taken during the meeting included:

*District 4 Supervisor Ronald Pfeifer being elected to serve as the board’s vice chairman and appointed to represent the county on the Northeast Nebraska Solid Waste Coalition.

*District 3 Supervisor James Scow being appointed to the Region IV Mental Health Board, along with being appointed to represent the county on the E-911 Technical Committee/Joint Consolidation Board.

*District 5 Supervisor Robert Lloyd being appointed to the Northstar Inc. Board.

*Engdahl being appointed to serve on the Northeast Nebraska Economic Development Board.

*District 2 Supervisor Jerry Micek being appointed to serve on the Juvenile Detention Committee with Engdahl serving as an alternate.

*Engdahl being appointed to represent the county on the Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce Board.

Sam Pimper is the news editor of The Columbus Telegram. Reach him via email at sam.pimper@lee.net.

Update hourly