Local senators are given committee leadership positions

December 24, 2018

CHARLESTON — Senate President Mitch Carmichael, R-Jackson, has selected the chairs and vice chairs of Senate committees for the upcoming legislative session. The newly chosen leadership team will assume their duties upon being sworn in Jan. 9.

“We have put together a leadership team that has knowledge, experience and, above all, a passion for making West Virginia a world-class leader in critical areas like education and economic development,” Carmichael said in a release. “We are blessed to have senators from across the state and a leadership team with such diverse careers and backgrounds. Each of these chairmen and vice chairmen brings such a unique perspective, and I am excited to see the outstanding work that will come from them during the session.”

Several area senators have been selected to lead committees:

• Sen. Mark Maynard, R-Wayne, will chair the economic development, enrolled bills and natural resources committees. He will serve as vice chair of the interstate cooperation committee.

• Sen. Chandler Swope, R-Mercer, will chair the workforce committee and vice chair the economic development, government organization, and transportation and infrastructure committees.

• Sen. Eric Tarr, R-Putnam, will serve as vice chair of the health and human services committee.

• Sen. Sue Cline, R-Wyoming, will chair the interstate cooperation committee.

Announced earlier, Sen. Tom Takubo, R-Kanawha, has been named Senate Majority Leader.

Update hourly