Related topics

List of Resigning EU Commissioners

March 16, 1999

Following is a list of the 20 European commissioners who resigned Tuesday:

Jacques Santer of Luxembourg, president

Manuel Marin of Spain, external relations, Mediterranean, Middle East, Near East, Latin America, and Asia

Martin Bangemann of Germany, industrial affairs

Sir Leon Brittan of Britain, commercial policy, relations with OECD and WTO

Karel Van Miert of Belgium, competition

Hans Van den Broek of Netherlands, external relations, Central and Eastern Europe, Turkey, Malta

Joao de Deus Pinheiro of Portugal, external relations, Africa, Carribean and Pacific.

Padraig Flynn of Ireland, Employment and social affairs

Marcelino Oreja of Spain, Relations with the European Parliament

Edith Cresson of France, science, research and development

Ritt Bjerregaard of Denmark, environment

Monika Wulf-Mathies of Germany, regional policies

Neil Kinnock of Britain, transport

Mario Monti of Italy, internal market, customs, taxation

Emma Bonino of Italy, European Community Humanitarian Office, consumer policy, fishing

Yves-Thibault de Silguy of France, economic and financial affairs

Christos Papoutsis of Greece, tourism, energy

Anita Gradin of Sweden, anti-fraud, financial controls

Franz Fischler of Austria, agriculture and rural development

Ekki Liikanen of Finland, budget, personnel and administration

Update hourly