Legislative races

November 9, 2018

Three incumbent state senators in Lincoln-centered districts sailed to re-election in the officially nonpartisan Legislature.

Democrats Adam Morfeld and Patty Pansing Brooks weren’t challenged in their respective races and won re-election. And Matt Hansen handily defeated Republican challenger Bob Van Valkenburg.

But Sen. Laura Ebke of Crete, the Legislature’s only registered Libertarian, was topped by Republican Tom Brandt of Plymouth in District 32.

In other area races, Republican Myron Dorn topped Democrat Don Schuller in District 30, which includes Gage County and part of Lancaster County.

And State Sen. Mark Kolterman of Seward, a Republican, overwhelmed Democrat Stephanie Nantkes in District 24.

Update hourly