Graduates reflect on their time together at Huntington St. Joe

May 26, 2019

HUNTINGTON — St. Joseph Central Catholic High School sent off its Class of 2019 at its annual graduation ceremony Friday evening at Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church in Huntington.

The 41 graduates gathered for the last time in the church’s sanctuary to reflect on their time at St. Joe before receiving their diplomas.

The Class of 2019′s salutatorian was Bojena Gross and valedictorian was Audrey Heaberlin.

Heaberlin, Ariana Patrick, Ethan Fleckenstein, Courtney Hart, Savannah Short, Isaiah Meade, Elijah Brown and Noah Bolton received awards for various achievements.

As Heaberlin addressed her classmates, she reflected on some of the key memories the students shared together, mentioning the time all the seniors were conveniently “sick” and returned to school the next day with horrible sunburns. She said from here, she and her classmates have many decisions to make regarding what path to choose in life.

“Some of us have already discovered what our purpose is and others are getting closer and closer every day, but no matter what direction life takes us, it’s the forward motion further into our lives that counts,” Heaberlin said.

In her address to the class, Gross said high school was like making a work of art. Everyone did it differently, some taking it day by day and others having a well thought-out and executed plan, with the occasional mess-up along the way.

“Hopefully we learned to take Bob Ross’ advice and learn to make those mistakes into happy accidents,” Gross said.

The commencement speaker was Del. Chad Lovejoy, D-Cabell, who is a third-generation student of St. Joe and part of its Class of 1990.

The Class of 2019 was Max James Adkins, Tima Marie Alhaj, Bonson Kyle Barker, Noah Kristian Beter, Hunter Allen Blake, Noah Alexander Bolton, Elijah Mason Brown, Gracie Elizabeth Rose Brumfield, Haleigh Nicole Burton, Alexandre Maximilien Dutranoy, Griffyn Bailee Ellison, Joseph Daniel Faucette, Brooke Nicole Ferguson, Ethan Michael Fleckenstein, Bojena Dawn Gross, Courtney Ann Hart, Audrey Kathleen Heaberlin, Julie Alexandra Ignatiadis, Ishaan Anil Jagiasi, Dena Jacalyn Jarrells, Errin Dawn Kay, Shealyn Kailee Lewis, Mabor Peter Mabor, Jeremy Isaiah Meade, McKenzie Renee Moran, Caleigh Grace Morris, Nam Phuong Nguyen, Phuc Huu Nguyen, Arianna Renee Patrick, Samuel Reid Ransdell, Douglas McKeon Reynolds, Savannah Faye Short, Paige Elizabeth Shy, Quin Thomas Slazinski, Brooklyn Jade Stoner, Williams Siegfried Ange Tonje, Gregory Dante Tribble Jr., Erika Dailey Turner, James Joseph Weiler IV, Gracie Ann Wiley and Metin Mert Yavuz.

Follow reporter Megan Osborne on Twitter and Facebook @megosborneHD.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.