Related topics

India wins toss, bowls first vs South Africa

December 8, 2013

DURBAN, South Africa (AP) — India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first Sunday as his team made three changes for the second one-day international against South Africa at Kingsmead.

After being crushed in the first match by 141 runs, India elected to tweak its bowling attack with Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohit Sharma replaced by Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav.

The third change has batsman Ajinkya Rahane coming into the middle order for Yuvraj Singh, who Dhoni said was not fit to play.

South Africa made one change in its first international cricket match since the death of former President Nelson Mandela, with Vernon Philander returning from injury to take Wayne Parnell’s place.

The toss was delayed by 90 minutes by a wet outfield with the match consequently reduced to 49 overs per side.

Both teams wore black armbands and there was a moment’s silence prior to the national anthems to honor Mandela, who passed away just moments after the Proteas completed victory in Thursday’s first ODI.

“When you think of Nelson Mandela, only good things come to mind,” South Africa captain AB de Villiers said in a public address prior to the match. “I think of words such as inspiration, role model, honor, forgiveness and Madiba magic. I consider myself very fortunate to have grown up in the Nelson Mandela era.

“I clearly remember the 1995 Rugby World Cup where the Madiba magic played a huge role in us winning that trophy. It was a huge turning point for South Africa and for all of us as South Africans.

“With the passing of Madiba let us now, more than ever, stick together as a nation. We owe him that much.”



South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

India: MS Dhoni (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.

Update hourly