Related topics

Sport Shorts

November 18, 1986

ROME (AP) _ The World Boxing Association junior welterweight title fight between champion Patrizio Oliva of Italy and Mexican challenger Rodolfo ″Gato″ Gonzales will be held in Agrigento on Jan. 10, Italian matchmakers announced Tuesday.

It will be the second title defense for the unbeaten champion, who won the the crown from Ubaldo Nestor Sacco of Argentina in Monte Carlo last March.

Oliva, 27, a former Olympic champion, successfully defended the title against American challenger Brian Brunette two months ago.

A spokesman for IBP, the Italian promoters’ group, said Gonzales, the No. 1 challenger in the WBA ratings, will travel to Sicily 10 days before the match to complete his preparation for the bout.


DALLAS (AP) - Dallas businessman Tom Russell, the second largest shareholder in the Louisiana Downs race track, is selling out to Edward J. DeBartolo, the majority owner who also is developing a race track in Oklahoma, a spokesman said Tuesday.

One of the original stockholders, Russell and a group headed by him owned 700,000 shares in the Bossier City, La. horse racing track, said Gene Wilson, a Russell spokesman.

The price of the stock sale was not disclosed, but Russell said it was a ″a mid-seven figure sum,″ according to Wilson.

Russell, former president of the Texas Thoroughbred Breeder Association, is an avid lobbyist for parimutuel betting in Texas and sells thoroughbred horses.

DeBartolo, a shopping center developer based Youngstown, Ohio, is developing a new horse racing track in Oklahoma City called Remington Park.


For Release 6 p.m. EST

NEW YORK (AP) - Bob Tway and Pat Bradley have been named the 1986 Players of the Year by GOLF Magazine, which conducted a poll among 60 PGA Tour pros and 100 pros from the LPGA.

Tway won four events, including the PGA Championship, while Bradley won five tournaments, including three of the four major championships, and set a single season money record for the LPGA of $416,472.

The magazine also selected Scott Verplank and Jenny Lidback as its 1986 College Players of the Year. Verplank, from Oklahoma State, and Lidback, from Louisiana State, both have turned pro.

The Junior Players of the Year, both high school juniors, are Phil Mickelson of San Diego and Adele Moore of Dallas. They were selected by GOLF Magazine and the American Junior Golf Association.

The announcements were made in the December issue of GOLF Magazine.

End Adv 6 p.m. EST

Update hourly