Related topics

Sports Shorts

May 19, 1986

BRISTOL, Conn. (AP) _ Jack Whitaker, who has won Emmy Awards for his sportscasting work at CBS and ABC, will host ESPN’s 12-part series of America’s Cup documentaries.

The series, which begins June 29 and runs through Sept. 28, will provide background and historical perspective on the yachting series.

″Jack is one of the mst distinguished broadcasters in the history of our business,″ said Geoff Mason, executive producer of ESPN’s America’s Cup coverage. ″He excels at providing the viewer with a unique feel for the extra dimension in sport, which is exactly what we want to accomplish with the America’s Cup documentary series.″

ESPN will begin exclusive American network coverage oft the trials beginning in October, as well as the best-of-7 final from Australia.


NEW YORK (AP) - Alexis Arguello, the three-time world boxing champion who recently retired from the ring, will makes his sportscasting debut June 7 as analyst for the WBA Marvin Johnson-Jean Marie Emebe light heavyweight title fight.

Arguello, 33, retired last month due to a heart problem. He brings 18 years of experience in 86 professional bouts to the broadcast booth.

Sam Nover will handle the blow-by-blow announcing for the bout, from Bermuda.


TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) - The Kansas City Sizzlers of the Continental Basketball Association said Monday that they are moving the franchise to Topeka.

Last season, the Sizzlers averaged 2,646 fans, the second best in the CBA. But they played in Municipal Auditorium, an old facility. In Topeka, the team will play in a new 9,000-seat arena, the Kansas Expo Center, which will open next March.

Until then, the Sizzlers will play at Washburn College.


TAIPEI, Taiwan (AP) - The U.S. men’s basketball team beat Japan 79-61 Monday in preliminary round robin matches on the opening day of the William Jones Cup men’s basketball tournament.

In other matches, the Austrian Klosterneburg team defeated Thailand 93-71 (52-42) and Taiwan’s national team downed the Malaysian squad 82-77.

South Korea is the other team participating in the tournament.

The Philippines, which won the tournament last year, did not participate this year.

The tournament is named after William Jones of Britain, who was a former secretary-general for the international basketball association for 45 years. He died in 1981.

Update hourly