Related topics

Maria Moors Cabot Prizes Announced

October 14, 1986

NEW YORK (AP) _ Correspondents for The Miami Herald and Time magazine and newspapers and their editors in Argentina and Colombia have won the 1986 Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, Columbia University announced on Tuesday.

The awards, which carry a gold medal and a $1,000 honorarium each, are given to Western Hemisphere journalists for distinguished contributions to the advancement of inter-American understanding and freedom of information.

The recipients are:

-Alfonso Chardy, correspondent in the Washington bureau of The Miami Herald.

-Gavin Scott, South American bureau chief of Time magazine and the Time- Life News Service.

-Rio Negro of General Roca, Argentina, and its editor, Julio Raul Rajneri.

-El Mundo of Medellin, Colombia, and its editor, Dario Arizmendi Posada.

Special Cabot citations will be presented to:

-Hugh O’Shaughnessy, Latin American correspondent of The Observer and former correspondent for The Financial Times, both of London.

-Guillermo Sanchez Borbon, daily columnist of La Prensa in Panama.

The prizes were established by the late Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston as a memorial to his first wife and were first presented in 1939. They are awarded by the university trustees on the recommendation of the dean of the journalism school and with the approval of the University Senate.

Update hourly