AP NEWS
Related topics

BC-US--JFK Anniversary,Advisory, US

November 20, 2013

EDITORS:

As the 50th anniversary of the assassination of President John F. Kennedy approaches, here are the AP’s coverage plans through the Nov. 22 anniversary date.

In addition, numerous stories and multi-format packages have already moved and they are listed below the spot coverage. Reruns of stories are available at http://apexchange.com,

UPCOMING DAILY COVERAGE

Tuesday, Nov. 19

JFK-QUOTES — Kennedy’s own words.

Thursday, Nov. 21:

JFK-ANNIVERSARY

DALLAS — The anniversary of John F. Kennedy assassination has turned into a sideshow before, complete with conspiracy nuts and uninvited guests filling Dealey Plaza. For the 50th anniversary, the city purposely designed a simple remembrance with a limited number of seats for the public. It’s an approach mirrored at the JFK library in Boston and in Washington, where plans for the day are muted. By Jamie Stengle. 700 words by 11 a.m. EST (1600 GMT), photos.

Friday, Nov. 22:

JFK-ANNIVERSARY

DALLAS — In Boston, a private concert with James Taylor. In Dallas, a memorial with historian David McCullough. At Arlington National Cemetery, the eternal flame. Americans pause to remember John F. Kennedy, the president from Camelot slain 50 years ago by an assassin’s bullet. By Jamie Stengle and Nomaan Merchant. Updates from memorial service and ceremony, scheduled to begin at 12:30 p.m EST (1730 GMT)., with 800 words by 4 p.m. EST (2100 GMT), photos, video.

JFK- ANNIVERSARY-RUNNING

DALLAS — AP will offer a running account of the ceremonies and events in Dallas, nationwide and around the world to honor the memory of John F. Kennedy on the 50th anniversary of the president’s assassination. The frequently updated report will also feature historical anecdotes and past AP reporting about Kennedy’s death. Running report from 11:30 a.m. EST (1630 GMT) through 2:30 p.m. EST (19:30 GMT), photos.

JFK-MEMORIES OF KENNEDY

DALLAS — From points across America and around the world, AP reporters gather memories of John F. Kennedy, of the moments people learned he had been shot and the stories parents told their children about the slain president. A collection of vignettes. 800 words by 3 p.m. EST (2000 GMT), photos.

PHOTO:

— Photographers at the memorial service on Dealey Plaza in Dallas.

— Photographer in Arlington Cemetery and spot coverage around Washington on merits.

— Photographer at an event at the JFK Library in Boston

VIDEO:

PACKAGES

CHRONOLOGY — People who were there that day, including eyewitnesses, police officers and surgeons who treated the president at Parkland Memorial, recount their experience the day of the shooting. Includes interview with granddaughter of Abe Zapruder, who caught the shooting on film with an 8MM camera and interview with Dick Stolley, the Life Magazine correspondent who negotiated the sale of the film. Moves Nov. 19.

LEE HARVEY OSWALD — Profile of the man named as the lone assassin. Elements include sound with historian Buell Frasier, the man who drove Oswald to work that day, the woman who Oswald’s wife boarded with and Jim Leavelle, the police officer escorting Oswald when he was shot. The piece includes footage where Oswald and his family lived. Moves Nov. 20.

CONSPIRACY — Sites around Dallas connected to JFK conspiracy theories that have become tourist attractions. Moves Nov. 21.

LIVE COVERAGE NOV. 22

— Shot at the Eternal Flame Arlington beginning 7 a.m EST (1200 GMT).

— Live coverage of events in Dallas beginning at 12:30 p.m. EST (1730 GMT)

— Live at commemoration at the Kennedy library and museum in Boston 1:30 p.m. to 2:15 p.m EST (1830-1915 GMT).

MULTIMEDIA:

An interactive using AP interviews, photos, video and graphics examine Kennedy’s life, presidential legacy and the tragic circumstances surrounding his death. The interactive, and a print timeline looking at Kennedy’s life, were published Oct. 25.

PREVIOUSLY MOVED:

JFK-IDEA LIVES ON, Website asks people to share stories of JFK legacy. Sent Nov. 18.

JFK-CAROLINE KENNEDY. JFK’s Caroline: Family’s sole survivor is keeper of family flame and new ambassador to Japan. Sent Nov. 15.

JFK-FLORIDA — JFK’s trip to Florida days before assassination remembered for its hope, innocence. Sent Nov. 15.

JFK-OSWALD Q&A — What’s known and what remains mysterious about the alleged assassin, Lee Harvey Oswald, in question-and-answer format. Sent Nov. 10.

JFK-ZAPRUDER FILM — Historic home movie. Sent Nov. 6.

JFK-WHERE IS IT NOW? — What happened to limo, gun, plane. Sent Nov. 8.

JFK-INVESTIGATIONS — Summary of official probes. Sent Nov. 11

___

ADDITIONAL STORIES SENT PREVIOUSLY:

JFK-CONSPIRACY POLL — Majority of Americans still suspect conspiracy. Sent: May 12.

JFK’S IMAGES — Reconciling Camelot inspiration with later revelations. Sent: Oct. 28.

JFK-AN IRISH SALUTE — On Irish cadet corps’ ritual at JFK’s grave. Sent: Nov. 3.

TV-JFK Programming — Shows commemorate JFK assassination. Sent: Nov. 7

JFK-THAT AWFUL DAY — Mementoes of the day. Sent: Nov. 17

JFK-WORLD GETS THE NEWS — How news spread. Sent: Nov. 17

JFK-FINAL FAREWELL — An essay. Sent: Nov. 17

___

The AP

AP RADIO
Update hourly