ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo wants the federal government to grant a major disaster declaration for eight upstate counties hit by severe flash flooding last month.

The Democrat on Thursday requested the Trump administration grant the declaration for Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Schuyler, Seneca and Tioga counties.

A declaration would make the counties eligible for federal financial assistance to cover the costs of recovering from the floods.

Flash flooding caused by heavy rains on Aug. 14-15 resulted in extensive damage to infrastructure, homes and businesses in the Finger Lakes region and Southern Tier. Some areas were already in the midst of a rainy spell when the storms dumped up to 9 inches in communities along Seneca Lake.

The storms caused an estimated $36 million in damage and repair costs.