Related topics

France beats Uruguay for FIFA Under-20 title

July 13, 2013

ISTANBUL (AP) — France won the Under-20 World Cup for the first time, beating Uruguay 4-1 on penalty kicks after a 0-0 tie in Saturday night’s final.

Juventus’ Paul Pogba and Nantes’ Jordan Veretout made the first two kicks for France, while Les Bleus goalkeeper Alphonse Areola saved kicks by Emiliano Valazquez and Giorgian De Arrascatea. Rennes’ Axel Ngando made it 3-0, and Lucas Olaza converted for Uruguay. Rennes’ Dimitri Foulquier then converted the clinching kick for Les Bleus.

France is the sixth European champion In the 36-year history of the event but only the second in the past 20 years following Spain in 1999.

Uruguay lost the 1997 final to Argentina.

Update hourly