HS football: Highland’s Kobe Tracy named 5A District 5-6 Player of the Year

November 22, 2018

Highland quarterback Kobe Tracy was named the 5A District 5-6 Player of the Year, announced Wednesday. The league’s all-conference honors were voted on by the district’s coaches.

The senior quarterback finished the 2018 season 248 of 354 for 2,883 yards, 29 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. Tracy set the Rams’ single-season record for completions, topping the previous mark of 245 set in 2005 by Mike Davenport. Tracy also had the third-best single-season completion percentage (70.2) in team history.

Teammate Landon Demuzio earned offensive player of the year honors. The senior running back tallied 1,291 yards rushing, 692 yards receiving and 21 offensive touchdowns. Highland’s Gino Mariani was named coach of the year after leading the Rams to a second-place finish at the 5A state playoffs.

Highland running back Jesus Garcia, tight end Drake Hill, wide receiver Andrew VanSickle and offensive linemen Tanner Drury and Colton Heinz were named to the first-team offense, while defensive lineman Kamiah Olsen, linebackers Dylan Jester and Taylor Kerr, and defensive backs Carter Fellows and Jayden Bell were first-team selections on defense. Bell was also a first-team punter.

Highland had four players named to the second-team offense, including Fellows as a return specialist. Four Rams were selected to the second-team defense, and three Rams earned honorable mention honors.

Madison linebacker Brigham Castillo was tabbed as the conference’s defensive player of the year.

The full all-conference teams can be found below.


Player of the Year: Kobe Tracy, QB, Highland

Offensive Player of the Year: Landon Demuzio, RB, Highland

Defensive Player of the Year: Brigham Castillo, LB, Madison

Coach of the Year: Gino Mariani, Highland

First-team offense

Quarterback: Jordan Porter, Madison

Running back: Karson Hastings, Madison; Jesus Garcia, Highland

Tight end: Drake Hill, Highland

Wide receiver: Andrew Van Sickle, Highland; Mason McWhorter, Madison; Kayden Toldson, Thunder Ridge

Offensive line: Landon Cook, Rigby; Tanner Drury, Highland; Colton Heinz, Highland; Nathan Sanders, Madison; Dallin Whitehead, Madison

Kicker: Spencer Hathaway, Madison

Return: Karson Hastings, Madison

Second-team offense

Quarterback: Keegan Thompson, Rigby

Running back: Brigham Youngstrom, Rigby; Malakai Valora, Madison

Tight end: Spencer Hathaway, Madison

Wide receiver: Austin Richards; Highland; Bohlder Murray, Madison; Spencer Richins, Rigby

Offensive line: BJ Madsen, Rigby; Seth Moedl, Thunder Ridge; Elijah Fonti, Thunder Ridge; Blake Williamson, Highland; Nate Franz, Rigby

K: Logan Armstrong, Highland

Return: Carter Fellows, Highland

First-team defense

Defensive line: Kamaih Olsen, Highland; Trey Williams, Madison; Ziggy Falevi, Rigby; Tanoa Togiai, Rigby

Linebacker: Dylan Jester, Highland; Taylor Kerr, Highland; Brigham Carter, Madison; Jaxon Graham, Rigby

Defensive back: Jayden Bell, Highland; Carter Fellows, Highland; Jaden Schwab, Madison; Freddy Sheppard, Rigby

Punter: Jayden Bell, Highland

Second-team defense

Defensive line: Luke Togiai, Highland; Bridger Bair, Madison; Ares Vankirk, Thunder Ridge; Jack Hall, Highland

Linebacker: Trey Talbot, Rigby; Connor Isom, Thunder Ridge; Micah Naumu, Highland; Brigdon Craig, Thunder Ridge

Defensive back: Davis Berry, Madison; Payton Richardson, Rigby; Trey Murdoch, Thunder Ridge; Jadon Whitworth, Highland

Punter: Spencer Hathaway Madison

Honorable mention offense

Wide receiver: Lane Gillespie, Thunder Ridge

Tight end: Brycen Uffens, Rigby

Offensive line: Jared Piper-Perez, Highland

Honorable mention defense

Defensive line: Jacob Ramsey, Highland; Erubey Garcia, Rigby

Linebacker: Landon Johnson, Rigby

Defensive back: Logan Armstrong, Highland; Micah Moss, Rigby; Robbie South, Madison

Update hourly