Auto racing: Sorensen wins a wild one at Deer Creek

August 1, 2018

SPRING VALLEY — Dustin Sorensen has had some big victories in his young USRA Modifieds racing career, but Saturday’s will be one he’ll remember for a long time.

The third-generation driver from Rochester held off one of the best dirt-track Modified drivers in the country in a wild finish to win the A Main at Deer Creek Speedway.

Rodney Sanders, a multiple-time United States Modified Touring Series national champion, put a wild slide job on Jake Timm and Brad Waits halfway through the 25-lap race to pass them both for second. And as he charged hard to get past Sorensen late in the race, Sanders drove up the wall and off the track in Turn 4.

Sanders finished 17th. Sorensen held on for his second points win of the summer at Deer Creek. Timm finished second, followed by Waits, Brandon Davis and Joey Jensen.

• WISSOTA SUPER STOCKS: Mike Loomis of Columbus, Minn., picked up his first-ever feature win at Deer Creek. Loomis became the seventh driver in eight features this year to win in the Super Stocks class. Brandon Duellman finished second, while Jeff Brauer, Neil Eckhart and Dan Nissalke rounded out the top five.

• WISSOTA STREET STOCKS: Kory Adams’ trips from Stacyville, Iowa, have been well worth it this summer, especially recently. Adams won his second consecutive feature race at Deer Creek on Saturday, holding off Oakdale’s Dustin Doughty for the victory. Track points leader Blake Adams finished third, followed by Bobby Blowers and Braden Brauer. Keith Tourville of Webster, Wis., made a big charge through the field, too, finishing sixth after starting 20th.

• WISSOTA MIDWEST MODIFIEDS: Jason VandeKamp of Scandia has found Deer Creek to his liking this season. He has won both of his A Main starts at the track this summer, including another on Saturday, when he made a pass on the final lap to take the checkers. Another driver from Scandia, Mitch Weiss, finished second.

• USRA B-MODIFIEDS: Nine feature races have been held at Deer Creek this season in the USRA B-Modifieds class. And Jared Boumeester became the ninth different driver to win one, on Saturday. That ties a track record for most different winners in a class to open the season; a record that was set a year ago.



A Main — 1. Dustin Sorensen, 2. Jake Timm, 3. Brad Waits, 4. Brandon Davis, 5. Joey Jensen, 6. Adam Hensel, 7. Josh Angst, 8. Nate Wasmund, 9. Blake Arndt, 10. Joe Ludemann.

B Main winner — Darwyn Karau.

Heat winners — Davis, Wasmund, Waits, Jacob Bleess.


Feature — 1. Mike Loomis, 2. Brandon Duellman, 3. Jeff Brauer, 4. Neil Eckhart, 5. Dan Nissalke, 6. Kevin Hager, 7. Denny Schouveller, 8. Schatney Sanders, 9. Dave Solum, 10. David Miller.

Heat winners — Loomis, Duellman.


Feature — 1. Kory Adams, 2. Dustin Doughty, 3. Blake Adams, 4. Bobby Blowers, 5. Braden Brauer, 6. Keith Tourville, 7. Jason Newkirk, 8. Nick Schwebach, 9. Travis Krause, 10. Jacob Bennett.

Heat winners — Krause, K. Adams, B. Adams.


Feature — 1. Jason VandeKamp, 2. Mitch Weiss, 3. Dan Wheeler, 4. Jason Haugerud, 5. Alex Williamson, 6. Corey Jones, 7. Billy Steinberg, 8. Don Schaefer, 9. Ryan Wetzstein, 10. Jesse Hernandez.

B Main winner — Schaefer.

Heat winners — Nick Koehler, VandeKamp, Wetzstein, Steven Amundson.


A Main — 1. Jared Boumeester, 2. Cole Denner, 3. Ethan Braaksma, 4. Kadden Kath, 5. Brandon Maitland, 6. Dustin Kruse, 7. Jerry Young, 8. AJ Zvorak, 9. Sam Wieben, 10. Jim Chisholm.

B Main winner — Zvorak.

Heat winners — Braaksma, Young, Maitland, Kath.

Update hourly