2 from NDSU, 1 from SDSU receive top Missouri Valley honors

November 22, 2018

ST. LOUIS (AP) — North Dakota State quarterback Easton Stick was named offensive player of the year and Bison linebacker Jabril Cox was named defensive player of the year in the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

This is the seventh time in conference history that one team has claimed both the offensive and defensive players of the year, and the first time since 2010 when Western Illinois quarterback Matt Barr and linebacker Kyle Glazier were selected.

Stick is the second NDSU player to earn the league’s top offensive honor along with quarterback Brock Jensen. Cox is the third NDSU player to be selected on defense behind Marcus Williams and Kyle Emanuel.

South Dakota State running back Pierre Strong Jr. was voted freshman of the year.

The awards are voted on by media covering the league.

Update hourly