Ashley Memorial Day Parade

May 23, 2019

The 137th annual Memorial Day Parade will step off at 9 a.m. Monday, May 27, in Ashley. Parade marshal is Rick Oravic. Guest speaker is Col. Paul Oreck, who fought in Iraq as the Multi-National Forces Iraq Deputy Chief of Staff for Iraqi Logistics Plans. He is a 31-year veteran who served throughout the world. He is the recipient of the Bronze Star, Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Selective Service Meritorious Bronze Medal, Airborne Wings and many other awards. A parade fly over will be at 9:20 a.m. Vocal selections will be by Apolonia Passetti. Line of march Unit 1 — Cook Street: Ashley Police Department, Ashley American Legion Post 673, American Legion Post 781, association president Thomas McGovern, Wilkes-Barre Twp. Police Department, Ashley Mayor Don Sipple, Catholic War Veterans Post 274, marching and vehicles; Korean War Veterans, Ancient Order of Hibernians, Wyoming Valley Pipe and Drum Band, Ashley firemen and command SUV (at Family Dollar); Ashley Ambulance, 340th MP Batalion. Unit 2 — Fall Street: Sugar Notch Police Department, Mayor Bill Davis, Veterans of Vietnam War Post 56 Color Guard, 109th Field Artillery Battery A, Irem Temple String Band and Motor Corp, guest of honor, Colonel Paul Oreck, Congressman Matt Cartright, state Rep. Eddie Day Pashinski, Wilkes-Barre Twp. Mayor Karl Kuren, area clergy, the Rev. Rebecca Tanner, the Rev. Carol Coleman; St. Leo’s Knights of Columbus, Emerald Isle Irish Dancers, Huber Breaker Preservation Society, Coalville Lodge 474 F&AM. Unit 3 — Coalville Street: Wilkes-Barre Twp. Fire Department, U.S. Coast Guard, Korean War Veterans of Wyoming Valley, Ashley Lions Club, area Girl Scouts 32811, 32817, 32524, 30307; Daisy Troop 2280, Warrior Run; Hanover Area Boy Scouts, Mountain Top Boy Scouts and Cub Scouts Troop Pack 106, Hanover Area Fusion Band, Hanover Area Cheerleaders, Hanover Area Student Council, cannon, classic cars, America’s Choice. Unit 4 — Rutz Street: Kerry Dancers, Irish Dance performance troupe; Hanover Area Boys/Girls Little League (at Earth Conservancy); Hanover Mini Hawks Wrestling/Football (at Earth Conservancy); Knights of Columbus 12814, Sugar Notch; soccer teams, Warrior Run; The Antique Classic Boat Society Inc., Lindsey Equipment, Halliday Trucking, Commonwealth Equipment, Hanover Twp. Fire Department, Sugar Notch Fire Department, Trans Med ambulances, American Legion Riders and all motorcycles, Preston Fire Department. The parade route and lineup was announced by the American Legion Memorial Day Association, 121 N. Main St., Ashley. President is Thomas E. McGovern; treasurer, Michael Collins; secretary, Bill Werner, and parade marshal, Rick Oravic. Parade aids are Charles Coleman, James Fitzmourice, Sheldon Hannis, Joseph Kordeck, Stacy McGovern, Paul Miller, Tom Paul, Bill Uren and Wes Saltz.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.