AP NEWS

What We Are Working on 8/8/2018 (VIDEO)

August 8, 2018

Lowell Sun

It’s Wednesday, Aug. 8, 2018. Here is some of what Sun staffers and other news providers are working on for lowellsun.com and Thursday’s edition:

Reporter Rick Sobey, rsobey@lowellsun.com, is reporting from Lowell that the Market Basket Supermarket chain has filed plans with the city to build a new, long-awaited store in Pawtucketville.

Reporter Matt Langone, mlangone@lowellsun.com, has a story about the state of the Lowell Spinners, the affiliate of the Boston Red Sox.

Reporter Elizabeth Dobbins, edobbins@lowellsun.com, is at the Lowell School Committee. There could be movement with Salah Khelfaoui, who was placed on paid administrative leave last month.

Bad news on the employment front in Lowell. High-tech company F5 Networks has laid off 230 employees globally, including 89 in Lowell. Reporter Alana Melanson, amelanson@lowellsun.com, has this story.

The cover story of this week’s whatdoUwannado calendar section, by Scott Shurtleff, sshurtleff@nashobavalleyvoice.com, advances Saturday’s Blues N’ Brews festival at the JFK Plaza in downtown Lowell next to City Hall.

Find us on Twitter at: @lowellsunnews; on Facebook at www.facebook.com/lowellsun; on our mobile app; or on www.lowellsun.com. We welcome your suggestions, comments and contributions to staff members via their email addresses, or to Editor Jim Campanini (@suneditor) or jcampanini@lowellsun.com.

AP RADIO
Update hourly