Related topics

England wins toss and batting first in 5th ODI

June 3, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, England (AP) — England won the toss and decided to bat first against Sri Lanka in their one-day international series finale at Edgbaston on Tuesday.

The series was tied 2-2.

England, which has led twice in the series, was unchanged from the side which lost by seven runs at Lord’s on Saturday.

Sri Lanka was also unchanged, meaning offspinner Sachithra Senanayake plays despite being reported for a suspect illegal bowling action after the game last Saturday.



England: Alastair Cook (captain), Ian Bell, Gary Ballance, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Chris Jordan, James Tredwell, James Anderson, Harry Gurney.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews (captain), Ashan Priyanjan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

Update hourly