Final day to file for Supreme Court is here

August 21, 2018

The Herald-Dispatch

HUNTINGTON - Those interested in running for the two open positions on the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals have until midnight today, Tuesday, Aug. 21, to formally file.

To accommodate the opportunity for any candidate to file in person, Secretary of State Mac Warner’s office in the Capitol building, as well as his regional offices in Clarksburg (200 W. Main St.) and Martinsburg (229 E. Main St.), will be open until midnight Tuesday.

Candidates have the option to file for either a two-year or six-year unexpired term.

According to Warner, the two-year position will be identified as “Division 1” on the Nov. 6 general election’s non-partisan ballot. The six-year position will be identified as “Division 2.”

Candidates who want to run for either unexpired term and are also on a partisan ballot seeking election to another position are strongly encouraged to seek advice from the West Virginia Judicial Investigations Commission.

Those who wish to withdraw their certificate of announcement may do so by filing a notice of withdrawal at any West Virginia Secretary of State location by 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 23. The withdrawal must be physically received by that time and date.

According to the Secretary of State’s election candidate database, 13 people have filed to run for the two open justice positions: Harry C. “Bo” Bruner, Jr., of Charleston; Robert H. Carlton, of Williamson; Carl E. Hostler, of Scott Depot; Evan Jenkins, of Huntington; Brenden D. Long, of Hurricane; D.C. Offutt Jr., of Barboursville; William Schwartz, of Charleston; Marty Sheehan, of Wheeling; Dennise Renee Smith, of Charleston; Joanna I. Tabit, of Charleston; William Stewart Thompson, of Madison; Chris Wilkes, of Martinsburg; and Jim Wilson, of Charleston.

The list of candidates who applied to serve on the Supreme Court on an interim basis in the vacancy left by Menis Ketchum was released last week. The nine candidates will be interviewed Thursday by the Judicial Vacancy Advisory Commission. The nine candidates for the interim position are Tim Armstead, of Charleston; Robert Carlton, of Williamson; Gregory Chiartas, of Charleston; Robert Frank, of Lewisburg; Evan Jenkins, of Huntington; Arthur Wayne King, of Clay; D.C. Offutt Jr., of Barboursville; William Schwartz, of Charleston; and Martin Sheehan, of Wheeling.

For more information, Warner encourages candidates to call the Secretary of State’s Elections Division at 304-558-6000.

Update hourly