Related topics

England win toss, bowling 1st in 2nd test

June 20, 2014

LEEDS, England (AP) — England won the toss and decided to bowl first against Sri Lanka in the second cricket test at Headingley on Friday.

England was unchanged from the side which came within one wicket of winning the first test at Lord’s four days ago. Ian Bell will play his 100th test.

Sri Lanka made two changes. Wicketkeeper Prasanna Jayawardene was out with a finger injury, and replaced by Dinesh Chandimal. Fast bowler Dhammika Prasad has also taken over from Nuwan Kulasekera in the attack for his first test since January.



England: Alastair Cook (captain), Sam Robson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Matt Prior, Chris Jordan, Stuart Broad, Liam Plunkett, James Anderson.

Sri Lanka: Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep.

Update hourly