Meade Co. kicks off year with new commissioners, board members

January 4, 2019

STURGIS — The Meade County Commission held its first meeting of the year Wednesday and approved a laundry list of items, including the swearing in of new commissioners, selecting board members among other duties.

Rod Bradley, Rich Liggett, and Talbot Wieczoerek were sworn in as county commissioners and Sheriff Ron Merwin and Register of Deeds Lana Anderson were sworn in for new terms.

Ted Seaman was named board chairman while Bradley was chosen vice chairman.

Six people sought seats on the county’s planning board. Robert Mallow will return to his seat, and Robert Heidgerken and Michael Charnholm join the board.

Jim Schroeder will return to his seat on the weed and pest board.

Commissioners elected to change the days and time that they meet.

Previously they met on the second and fourth Wednesday of the month. They will now meet on the second and fourth Tuesday at 9 a.m. The state would often hold meetings and trainings on Wednesdays that would conflict with commission meetings.

Commissioners also lowered the mileage allowance paid by the county.

Commissioners and county employees, who are largely unaffected, will receive 42 cents per mile which is inline with the state reimbursement rate. This is a reduction from the 2018 federal reimbursement rate of 54.4 cents per mile.

To read all of today’s stories, Click here or call 642-2761 to subscribe to our e-edition or home delivery.

Update hourly