Related topics

Seven New Ministers Sworn In

July 3, 1985

DHAKA, Bangladesh (AP) _ President Hussain Ershad appointed seven new ministers Wednesday, bringing the number in the Cabinet to 21, the government announced. He also named three state ministers and one deputy minister.

Two new ministers are opposition leaders - Kazi Zafar Ahmed of the United People’s Party and Sirakuul Hossain Khan of the Democratic Party.

Air Vice Marshal K. M. Aminul Islam, Dr. M.A. Matin, Korban Ali and Abdus Sattar are from the ruling People’s Party and the seventh is career diplomat Humayun Rasheed Chowdhury, who has been Ershad’s foreign affairs adviser.

The portfolios of the new ministers were not announced.

One of the new state ministers also is from the opposition. The deputy minister is Sheik Shahidul Islam, nephew of the nation’s first president, Sheik Mujibur Rahman, who led Bangladesh to independence in 1971 and later was assassinated.

There have been reports that Gen. Ershad, who assumed power in a bloodless coup in March 1982, may begin talks with the opposition, leading to national elections.

Update hourly