CAPE TOWN, South Africa (AP) — Australia recalled hooker Saia Fainga'a and wings Joe Tomane and Adam Ashley-Cooper for Saturday's Rugby Championship test as the Wallabies chase a first win in South Africa since 2011.

Fainga'a was due to return to Australia's squad for the South Africa game in Perth on Sept. 6 but missed out to return home for the birth of his first child. Tomane and vice-captain Ashley-Cooper recovered from injury to earn starting places at Newlands this weekend.

The Wallabies said Thursday that Tomane had recovered from a broken cheekbone and a hamstring problem to make his first appearance this year. Ashley-Cooper, a veteran of 97 tests, is back after a neck injury forced him out of Australia's victory over Argentina in its last outing.

Coach Ewen McKenzie also gave a place on the bench to experienced prop Benn Robinson and retained the half-back pairing of NSW Waratahs teammates Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley. Former captain and scrumhalf Will Genia missed out on the 23-man matchday squad after being recalled for the tour to South Africa and Argentina.

McKenzie said the selection of Fainga'a in the run-on team and Robinson on the bench would boost the Wallabies' set-piece and forward effort against a typically muscular South African team that bases much of its game around its lineout and scrum.

"The set-piece is always an important area of focus for us, even more so when you play South Africa, and we know the outcome of the scrum and lineout will be crucial to the final result," McKenzie said in a statement announcing his selection.

The 24-year-old Tomane made the team ahead of Rob Horne, who dropped to the bench as Australia aims to combat the physicality of the Boks.

"We feel Joe deserves an opportunity to also show us what he has got," McKenzie said. "You can never have enough big backs in your side, and the physicality he brings to the game should serve us well against an abrasive Springboks lineup."

Australia beat South Africa 24-23 in Perth three weeks ago and will claim the No. 2-ranking from the Springboks with a win in Cape Town. Australia hasn't won in South Africa in three years and hasn't won in Cape Town since 1992.


Australia: Israel Folau, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Toomua, Joe Tomane, Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps; Ben McCalman, Michael Hooper (captain), Scott Fardy, Rob Simmons, Sam Carter, Sekope Kepu, Saia Fainga'a, James Slipper. Reserves: James Hanson, Benn Robinson, Ben Alexander, James Horwill, Scott Higginbotham, Nic White, Kurtley Beale, Rob Horne.