3 Indiana state troopers taking office as county sheriffs

December 31, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — At least four veteran Indiana State Police troopers are leaving the agency as they take office as county sheriffs.

State police officials have announced the departures of Sgts. Jerry Goodin, Daniel Mawhorr and Max Weber and Trooper Kyle Dukes, who all won November elections to become sheriffs beginning Tuesday.

Goodin joined the state police 27 years ago and has been the Sellersburg district’s public information officer since 2004. He’ll lead the Scott County Sheriff’s Department in southern Indiana.

Mawhorr is a 25-year state police veteran and won election as sheriff of northeastern Indiana’s Adams County. Weber is ending a 30-year state police career and won the Noble County sheriff’s election.

Dukes was an 18-year trooper and is becoming the Kosciusko (kahs-ee-AHS’-koh) County sheriff.

Update hourly