Related topics

Australia wins toss, bats in 3rd T20 vs England

February 2, 2014

SYDNEY (AP) — Australia won the toss and elected to bat Sunday in the third and final Twenty20 cricket international against England at Stadium Australia.

The match brings to an end England’s long and miserable tour of Australia during which it was swept 5-0 in the Ashes test series, lost the one-day international series 4-1 and has already been beaten 2-0 in the Twenty20 series. England has won only once in 11 matches in Australia on a tour lasting 100 days.

Australia made two changes to the lineup that won the second match by eight wickets, naming Daniel Christian and Ben Cutting in place of Chris Lynn and Josh Hazlewood.

Chris Jordan will make his Twenty20 international debut for England, replacing James Tredwell, while Ben Stokes replaces Michael Lumb.



Australia: George Bailey (captain), Aaron Finch, Cameron White, Brad Hodge, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Muirhead, Mitchell Starc, Daniel Christian, Ben Cutting.

England: Stuart Broad (captain), Ben Stokes, Alex Hales, Luke Wright, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jade Dernbach, Chris Jordan.

Umpires: Simon Fry and Paul Wilson, Australia.

TV umpire: John Ward, Australia; Match referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.

Update hourly