Marshall School of Medicine inducts new members to Honor Society

April 16, 2019

The Herald-Dispatch

HUNTINGTON - The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inducted 15 new members during a ceremony on April 9.

GHHS is a national honorary for those who demonstrate excellence in practicing patient-centered medical care through integrity, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy. Members are selected as third-year medical students. Residents, faculty and administrators may also be recognized for humanistic practice at various stages in their careers.

Members are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee composed of faculty, staff, clerkship directors and GHHS members. New inductees to the Marshall chapter include:


n Gabriella Casinelli

n Evan Childers

n James Gainer

n Dakota May

n Marji McCoy

n Lee Mendenhall

n Alexandrine Ratnani

n Preeya Shah

n Wesley Wright


n Casey Fitzpatrick, M.D. (Pediatrics)

n Sukhmit Kaur, M.D. (Obstetrics and Gynecology)

n Dipali Nemade, M.D. (Neurology)

n Lauren Tufts, M.D. (Pediatrics)


n Shannon L. Browning, R.Ph., M.D. (Internal Medicine)

n Marc Hettlinger, M.D. (Internal Medicine)

GHHS is an international initiative of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a public, not-for-profit organization established in 1988 by Drs. Arnold and Sandra Gold, several colleagues at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and community leaders.