Related topics

Target official Elected Dayton Hudson Corp. President

September 28, 1987

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) _ Bruce G. Allbright, chairman and chief executive officer of Target stores, has been elected president of Dayton Hudson Corp. and a director by the corporation’s board of directors, the company announced Monday.

The change takes effect Oct. 1, said Kenneth A. Macke, chairman and chief executive officer of the big retailer.

Allbright will oversee the operations of Target, the Dayton Hudson Department Store Co., Lechmere and Branden’s. He will report to Macke.

The company’s previous No. 2 executive, Boake A. Sells, announced his resignation last week.

Robert J. Ulrich, president and chief operating officer of Target, will become chairman and chief executive officer of Target effective Oct. 1. He will report to Allbright.

Allbright and Ulrich also are members of the Dayton Hudson Corp. operating committee.

Macke headed Target from 1976 to 1981. From 1977 to 1981, Allbright served as president of Target. Under their leadership, Target grew from 52 stores in nine states to 151 stores in 17 states. Annual revenues grew from $729 million to $2.1 billion.

Ulrich has been with Dayton Hudson for 20 years, Macke said.

Update hourly