Ashland city commissioners earn new terms

November 8, 2018

CATLETTSBURG, Ky. — Matt Perkins, an incumbent Ashland city commissioner, led the ticket for a two-year term on the Ashland Board of Commissioners, according to unofficial results Tuesday night from the Boyd County Courthouse.

Perkins had 4,511 votes, while Pat Steen, a newcomer to the board, received 3,387 votes. All but 43 absentee votes were counted, according to Boyd County Clerk Debbie Jones. The election results will be certified at noon Friday, Nov. 9, Jones said.

More than 15,600 people voted Tuesday, 43.5 percent of the county’s registered voters, Jones said.

Amanda Clark, an incumbent commissioner, finished third and will get another twoyear term on the board, while Marty Gute, another incumbent commissioner, finished fourth and also will get another two years on the Ashland board. The top four finishers were elected.

Michael Walters finished with 2,123 votes to finish fifth. Chuck Williams had 1,751 votes, Warren Howard had 1,620 votes and Rhonda Wilson finished last with 1,578 votes.

Faith Day Pike was elected Catlettsburg mayor. Her opponent, Randall D. Peterman, died earlier this year.

Six people also were elected to two-year seats on Catlettsburg City Council. They were Donald G. Wellman, Tina Davenport Taylor, Roger M. Hensley, Billy Cornette, Leo Zornes and Johnny “Malcolm” Marcum. Zornes had 285 votes, Cornette had 253 votes, Wellman had 246 votes, Hensley and Taylor both had 236 votes, and Marcum had 196 votes.

Rex Anthony Castle has 188 votes, Robert “Bob” Stewart had 157 votes and Hank Williamson had 149 votes.

Update hourly