WV physician honored with preceptor award

August 24, 2018

LEWISBURG— An area physician received recognition for his work with West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine (WVSOM) students.

Norman Cottrill, D.O., received the Outstanding Primary Care Preceptor Award for the South West region of WVSOM’s statewide campus system. Dr. Cottrill practices pediatrics at Marshall Pediatrics at Teays Valley in Scott Depot.

Preceptors assist and provide guidance to WVSOM medical students in their third-and fourth-year clinical rotations. Each year, Outstanding Primary Care and Specialty Preceptor Awards are given to physicians from each of the seven statewide campus regions who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and mentoring. These health professionals have also demonstrated a commitment to community wellness and service. There are 79 hospitals, clinics and medical centers across West Virginia that participate in WVSOM’s statewide campus program.

Update hourly