Related topics

Power wins 3rd pole for Alabama IndyCar race

April 26, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (AP) — Australian driver Will Power won the pole position for the third time at the Alabama Grand Prix.

The two-time Alabama winner posted the time to beat fairly early on Saturday in Fast Six qualifying for the IndyCar race.

James Hinchcliffe of Canada starts second after sitting out the final few minutes, followed by defending champion Ryan Hunter-Reay and Josef Newgarden of the U.S., Scott Dixon of New Zealand, and Helio Castroneves of Brazil.

Power and fellow Team Penske driver Castroneves combined to claim the pole and the win in each of the first three years at the track.

The Fast Six was dominated by big teams with Penske, Chip Ganassi and Andretti Autosport starting up front. Newgarden and Sarah Fisher-Hartman Racing are crashing the party.

Update hourly