Related topics

Pakistan elects to bowl first against India

March 2, 2014

MIRPUR, Bangladesh (AP) — Pakistan captain Misbah ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bowl first against rival India in a crucial Asia Cup match on Sunday.

Both teams need a win to keep in contention for a place in the final of the five-team tournament as they have one win each from two games.

India and Pakistan have both lost to Sri Lanka, which is the only unbeaten team so far.

Both teams made one change each from their previous games with Pakistan bringing in Mohammad Talha for Anwar Ali and India replaced Stuart Binny with Amit Mishra.

The two teams last clashed in the Champions Trophy at Birmingham in England last June when eventual champion India prevailed over Pakistan by eight wickets in a rain-shortened match.


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (captain), Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Talha, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan.

Update hourly