Related topics

32 Chosen As Rhodes Scholars

December 10, 2000

WASHINGTON (AP) _ Thirty-two Americans, among them the top-ranking students in the classes of 2000 and 2001 at the U.S. Military Academy, were chosen Saturday night as Rhodes Scholars.

The winners were selected by eight regional committees from among 950 applicants who were endorsed by 327 colleges and universities throughout the nation.

Rhodes Scholarships, created in 1902 by the will of British philanthropist Cecil Rhodes, provide two or three years of study at Oxford University in England. Winners are selected on the basis of high academic achievement, personal integrity, leadership potential and physical vigor, among other attributes.

Among the winners was Nicholas O. Melin of Fox Point, Wis., who was valedictorian of the West Point class of 2000. A civil engineering graduate, he has designed quick and durable temporary housing for refugees. He is a graduate of the Army Airborne school and will soon begin Ranger training.

Seth A. Bodnar of Franklin, Pa., ranks first in the West Point class of 2001 and is a member of the academy’s baseball team. As cadet commander, he has taken part in a military exchange program with Kazakstan and Uzbekistan, said the Rhodes Scholarship Trust, based in the Washington suburb of Vienna, Va.

Yale University placed three students, the most of any institution, on this year’s list of winners. Harvard University, which has 295 winners over the years, the most of any U.S. institution, did not have any recipients this year.

The 32 American students chosen as Rhodes Scholars for 2001, listed by district:

District I:

Luke A. Bronin, Greenwich, Conn., Yale University

Lipika Goyal, Scotch Plains, N.J., University of Pennsylvania

Brian Mullin, Milton, Mass., Yale University

Miles J. Sweet, Fairfield, Maine, Wheaton College

District II:

Zachary J. Battles, State College, Pa., Pennsylvania State University

Seth A. Bodnar, Franklin, Pa., U.S. Military Academy

Brandon Miller, Mohrsville, Pa., Princeton University

Carl Strauchler, Orange, N.J., Yeshiva University

District III:

Matthew Baugh, Raleigh, N.C., Duke University

Niuniu Ji, Greenville, N.C., Case Western Reserve University

Westley W. O. Moore, Pasadena, Md., Johns Hopkins University

Thomas M. Pallathy, Newark, Del., University of Delaware

District IV:

Ben M. Goodwin, Conway, Ark., Hendrix College

Thomas S. McCaleb Jr., Tallahassee, Fla., U.S. Air Force Academy

Anna R. Terry, Fort Smith, Ark., University of Arkansas

Bradley D. Tuggle, Decatur, Ala., University of Alabama

District V:

Bradley J. Henderson, Loveland, Ohio, University of Chicago

Sarah S. Johnson, Lexington, Ky., Washington University

Raju Raval, Fort Wayne, Ind., Indiana University

Rudyard W. Sadleir, Park Ridge, Ill., University of Illinois at Chicago

District VI:

Phillip N. Assmus, Madison, S.D., Luther College

Ian Klaus, Belvedere, Calif., Washington University

Nicholas O. Melin, Fox Point, Wis., U.S. Military Academy

Molly Zahn, Stevens Point, Wis., University of Minnesota

District VII

Joshua A. Chafetz, Houston, Texas, Yale University

Sara C. Galvan, Houston, Texas, University of Texas

Philip Mann, Durango, Colo., Arizona State University

Joshua D. Nassiri, Hayden, Idaho, U.S. Naval Academy

District VIII

Emma Brunskill, Edmonds, Wash., University of Washington

Jordan A. Krall, Encino, Calif., Amherst College

Carl H. Tape, Fairbanks, Alaska, Carleton College

Courtney C. J. Voelker, Portland, Ore., Brown University

Update hourly