Related topics

Yakult Swallows Win Japan Series

October 23, 1997

TOKYO (AP) _ Takahiro Ikeyama singled home two runs and drove in another run with a sacrifice fly as the Yakult Swallows defeated the Seibu Lions 3-0 Thursday and won the Japan Series 4-1.

Starter Terry Bross allowed two hits over four innings, and four relievers, including winner Kazuhisa Ishii, held the Lions to three more hits.

It was the fourth Japanese championship for the Central League champion Swallows. The Pacific League champion Lions have won the series eight times, with their last victory in 1992 over the Swallows.

Ikeyama hit a two-run single off Fumiya Nishiguchi in the second inning after Atsuya Furuta singled and Atsunori Inaba doubled.

In the fourth, Inaba tripled and scored on Ikeyama’s sacrifice fly.

Furuta was chosen the most valuable player of the series.

Update hourly