Outgoing elected officials celebrated, new ones sworn in

December 22, 2018
1 of 3
Skagit County Auditor-elect Sandy Perkins and Sheriff-elect Don McDermott have their election certificates notarized by retiring Auditor Jeanne Youngquist during a celebration at the commissioners chambers Friday morning in Mount Vernon.

MOUNT VERNON — Four elected officials with more than 115 years of collective experience in Skagit County were celebrated Friday ahead of their retirements.

As they prepared to hand over the reins of their respective departments, Skagit County Auditor Jeanne Youngquist, Clerk Mavis Betz, Sheriff Will Reichardt and Treasurer Katie Jungquist marked their impending retirements with cake at a meeting in the Skagit County commissioners chambers.

“I think you all have done a very good job for the community and a very good job for the county,” said Skagit County Commissioner Ron Wesen.

In her 12 years as auditor, Youngquist has overseen many changes in the department, including the transition from polling stations to mail-in ballots, Chief Deputy Auditor Barbara Leander said.

“I love my staff and I’m going to miss them,” Youngquist said. “It’s been a good ride.”

Betz has led the Skagit County Clerk’s Office for four years. Before that, she worked as the department’s chief deputy clerk for 12 years and also worked in the Skagit County Prosecutor’s Office.

“I have loved working for the county,” Betz said.

After 35 years in the Skagit County Sheriff’s Office and two terms as sheriff, Reichardt thanked the many deputies he had worked with over the years for helping him shape his career.

“It’s been an honor,” Reichardt said. “And so much fun.”

After 18 years as the county’s treasurer — and a total of more than four decades in the office — Jungquist was remembered by her staff as fun, dedicated and a good leader.

“She would never think of asking an employee to do something she wouldn’t do herself,” said Alana Pizzuto, Jungquist’s former assistant treasurer.

After the retirements were celebrated, Auditor-elect Sandy Perkins and Sheriff-elect Don McDermott were both sworn in by Skagit County Superior Court Judge Dave Svaren.

Skagit County Assessor Dave Thomas, Coroner Hayley Thompson and Commissioner Lisa Janicki were all re-sworn in.

Treasurer-elect Jackie Brunson will be sworn in at 11:30 a.m. Dec. 31. Clerk-elect Melissa Beaton will be sworn in at 4 p.m. Dec. 28.

Update hourly