Related topics

Bonner Among Harlon Hill Finalists

November 28, 2001

FLORENCE, Ala. (AP) _ Grand Valley State quarterback Curt Anes, Valdosta State quarterback Dusty Bonner and South Dakota State running back Josh Ranek are the finalists for the Harlon Hill Trophy, given to the top football player in Division II.

The trophy will be awarded Dec. 7, the eve of the national championship game in Florence.

The finalists were selected by sports information directors at Division II conferences and football-playing schools.

Bonner is trying to become only the second repeat winner in the award’s 16-year history. Texas A&M-Kingsville running back Johnny Bailey won in 1987-89.

Bonner, a senior, led the Blazers to an 11-0 regular-season record and No. 1 ranking. He threw 43 touchdown passes and finished second nationally in passing efficiency and eighth in total offense.

Anes, a junior, led Division II in passing efficiency and total offense. He threw for 48 touchdowns and led Grand Valley to a 10-0 record and a Division II record for points in a season (584).

Ranek, a senior, finished fourth in the voting in 1999. He is averaging 12.5 points a game and is second on the career Division II rushing list. He has rushed for 200-plus yards four times this season.

Update hourly