Sun Prairie, Middleton teachers honored with presidential excellence awards

July 14, 2018

Two teachers from Middleton and Sun Prairie have been named recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Susan Hammer, a first-grade teacher at Sauk Trail Elementary School in Middleton, and Jay Garvey Shah, a fifth-grade teacher at Creekside Elementary School in Sun Prairie, received the honor in late June.

They both were selected as finalists in 2016 to receive the honor. The awards are given to two teachers in each state, with K-6 teachers one year and 7-12 teachers the next year.

Hammer and Garvey Shah each received a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and a certificate signed by the president.

The award honors individuals and organizations for excellence in teaching or mentoring in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

Update hourly