Related topics

Iowa Clinches Second Straight Title

March 23, 1996

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) _ Mark Ironside’s third-place finish in the NCAA wrestling tournament helped Iowa clinch its second straight championship Saturday.

The Hawkeyes’ 108 1/2 points made it mathematically impossible for second-place Iowa State to overtake them. The runner-up Cyclones had 74 1/2 points heading into Saturday night’s finals.

The Hawkeyes have won five national titles in the past six years.

It was the 14th national title for coach Dan Gable, who is completing his 20th year leading the nation’s top wrestling program.

California State-Bakersfield was third with 66 points, with Nebraska and Penn State tied for fourth with 61 each.

Ironside, who lost to Arizona State’s Steve St. John in the 134-pound semifinals, decisioned Oklahoma State’s Steven Schmidt 7-4 in the third-place match. Ironside came into the tournament as the top seed.

Nebraska had three wrestlers finish third. Temoer Terry defeated Alfonzo Tucker of Fresno State 5-2 at 158 pounds. Ryan Tobin’s 10-6 win over Iowa’s Lee Fullart gave him a third-place finish at 190 pounds. Heavyweight Tolly Thompson made it three third-place finishers for the Cornhuskers with a 4-1 win over California State-Bakersfield’s Stephen Neal.

Markus Mollica, a two-time national champion from Arizona State, was upset in the 167-pound third-place match, losing to Boise State’s Charles Burton 4-3.

Other third-place finishers included Michigan’s Mike Morgan at 118, Wisconsin’s Eric Jetton at 126, Indiana’s Roger Chandler at 142, Penn State’s Russ Hughes at 150 and Northwestern’s Rohan Gardner at 177.

Update hourly