Republicans winning local races for Legislature

November 8, 2018

KINGMAN — State Sen. Sonny Borrelli and State Rep. Regina Cobb easily held onto their District 5 seats in the Arizona Legislature on Tuesday, according to preliminary results from the Mohave County Elections Department.

As of 10 p.m., Borrelli, an incumbent Republican, held a commanding lead of nearly 22,000 votes over Democratic candidate J’Aime Morgaine for the District 5 seat in the Arizona Senate. Borrelli was drawing roughly 74 percent of the votes in Republican-dominated Mohave County, nearly tripling Morgaine’s early vote total.

Cobb, meanwhile, was cruising to victory in the District 5 State House race where two of the three candidates will be elected. Cobb, with 44 percent of the vote, held a 5,000-vote margin over fellow Republican Leo Biasiucci. Democrat Mary McCord Robinson was running a distant third.

Cobb was the leading vote-getter in the GOP primary for the two seats; Biasiucci beat out incumbent Paul Mosley for the second Republican spot on the general election ballot.

Billy Sipe Jr.’s write-in bid for a the Superior Court Division 6 judgeship was failing late Tuesday night. Mohave County Elections Department figures showed Eric Gordon, who won the nonpartisan primary in August, with a 22,000 vote lead over a collection of write-in candidates led by Sipe. It wasn’t clear how many of the 5,004 write-in votes cast in the race went to Sipe, who currently serves as Superior Court Commissioner.

Update hourly