Related topics

Illinois Gov. James R. Thompson and Chicago Mayor Harold Washi

January 18, 1987

CHICAGO (AP) _ Illinois Gov. James R. Thompson and Chicago Mayor Harold Washington were among those honored Saturday night at the 47th annual Diamond Dinner of the Chicago baseball writers.

A crowd of nearly 1,000 also saw Billy Williams, who this week was voted into baseball’s Hall of Fame, receive the group’s Headline Award.

Thompson and Washington were co-recipients of the Will Haridge Achievement Award for their efforts aimed at keeping the White Sox in Chicago by building the American League club a new stadium to replace the aging Comiskey Park.

Others receiving awards were Gary Carter of the New York Mets, World Series Hero; Lee Smith of the Chicago Cubs as Chicago Player of the Year; White Sox pitcher Richard Dotson, the William Wrigley Jr. Comeback Award; Cleveland pitcher Phil Niekro, the J. Louis Comiskey Award for long and meritorious service.

In additon, John Cangelosi was named the White Sox rookie of the year, former major leager Bill Skowron received the Wendell Smith Memorial Award and Tommy John of the New York Yankees received the Ken Hubbs Award.

Also attending the affair were White Sox Manager Jim Fregosi and Manager Gene Michael of the Cubs.

Update hourly