Related topics

Georgetown’s Patrick Ewing was named for the third straight

March 19, 1985

NEW YORK (AP) _ Georgetown’s Patrick Ewing was named for the third straight year to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-America team and Chris Mullin of St. John’s and Oklahoma’s Wayman Tisdale were repeaters in results announced Monday.

Along with the Georgetown center, St. John’s guard and Oklahoma forward, forward Keith Lee of Memphis State and guard Johnny Dawkins of Duke were named to this year’s team by the nation’s coaches.

One of these five will be named the season’s Eastman Award winner as the outstanding male college basketball player in the country, to be announced on March 26.

Voted to the Division I second team by the coaches were Jon Koncak of SMU, Kenny Walker of Kentucky, Karl Malone of Louisiana Tech, Mark Price of Georgia Tech and Sam Vincent of Michigan State. The third team consists of Xavier McDaniel of Wichita State, Len Bias of Maryland, Creighton’s Benoit Benjamin, Washington’s Detlef Schrempf and Syracuse’s Dwayne Washington.

The NABC’s Division II first team included, Charles Oakley of Virginia Union, Ron Nunnelly of Central Missouri State, Manute Bol of Bridgeport, Todd Linder of Tampa and Butch Warner of Gannon.

Update hourly