Related topics


July 9, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Loudon, New Hampshire.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 4:30-6 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 9-10 a.m., 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (TNT, noon-4:30 p.m.).

Track: New Hampshire Motor Speedway (oval, 1.058 miles).

Race distance: 318.46 miles, 300 laps.

Last year: Brian Vickers raced to his third career victory.

Last week: Aric Almirola won the rain-delayed and rain-shortened race Daytona, putting Richard Petty’s famed No. 43 in Victory Lane for the first time since 1999.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Jimmie Johnson leads the series with three victories. Brad Keselowski, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Almirola, Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings. ... Matt Kenseth won the September race at the track.

Next race: Brickyard 400, July 27, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Loudon, New Hampshire.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 1-2 p.m., 3-4:3-0 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 10-11:30 a.m.), race, 3:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 3-6 p.m.).

Track: New Hampshire Motor Speedway (oval, 1.058 miles).

Race distance: 211.6 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the seventh of his 12 2013 victories, holding off Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Brian Vickers.

Last week: Kasey Kahne won at Daytona, edging JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith at the finish line.

Fast facts: Busch has three victories in 13 starts this year to extend his series-record victory total to 66. He won three straight races at the track from 2009-2011. ... Smith leads the season standings, 12 points ahead of Elliott Sadler and 15 in front of Chase Elliott.

Next race: EnjoyIllinois.com 300, July 19, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Illinois.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Newton, Iowa.

Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 7-8 p.m.), race, 8:30 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 8-10:30 p.m.).

Track: Iowa Speedway (oval, 0.875 miles).

Race distance: 175 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Timothy Peters beat then-17-year-old Erik Jones by 0.225 seconds.

Last race: Kyle Busch made it 5 for 5 this season in the series, holding off Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Darrell Wallace Jr. on June 26 at Kentucky. Busch has six straight victories dating to last season and 40 overall in 120 starts.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch Motorsports has won nine of the series’ last 12 races, with Wallace winning twice and Jones once. Jones is making his fourth start of the season in place of Busch in the No. 51 Toyota. Wallace won at Gateway on June 14. ... Johnny Sauter leads the season standings, eight points ahead of ThorSport Racing teammate Matt Crafton. ... James Buescher won at the track in September.

Next race: Mudsummer Classic, July 23, Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Newton, Iowa.

Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 4-5 p.m.); Saturday, race, 8:45 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 8-11 p.m.).

Track: Iowa Speedway (oval, 0.875 miles).

Race distance: 262.5 miles, 300 laps.

Last year: James Hinchcliffe raced to the third of his three 2013 victories, dominating for Andretti Autosport’s fourth straight win at the track.

Last week: Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya won at Pocono for his first victory in his return to open-wheel racing after seven years in NASCAR. Teammate Helio Castroneves was second.

Fast facts: Team Penske’s Will Power and Castroneves top the season standings with 446 points. Power shares the series victory lead at two with Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay and Schmidt Peterson Motorsports’ Simon Pagenaud. ... Tony Kanaan started Andretti Autosport’s streak at the track in 2010, Marco Andretti won in 2011, and Hunter-Reay in 2012.

Next races: Honda Indy Toronto, July 19 and 20, Streets of Toronto, Toronto.

Online: http://www.indycar.com



Next race: German Grand Prix, July 20, Hockenheimring, Hockenheim, Germany.

Last week: Lewis Hamilton won the British Grand Prix for his fifth victory of the year and Mercedes’ eighth in the first nine races of the season. Hamilton cut teammate Nico Rosberg’s series lead to four points. Rosberg had a gearbox failure.

Online: http://www.formula1.com



Next event: Mile-High NHRA Nationals, July 18-20, Bandimere Speedway, Morrison, Colorado.

Last week: John Force raced to his 140th victory, beating Ron Capps in the Funny Car final in Norwalk, Ohio. The 65-year-old Force also won the season-opening event in Pomona, California. Antron Brown won in Top Fuel, Erica Enders-Stevens in Pro Stock, and Andrew Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Online: http://www.nhra.com



TUDOR UNITED SPORTSCAR CHAMPIONSHIP: Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix, Sunday (Fox Sports 1, 2-5 p.m.), Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Bowmanville, Ontario. Online: http://www.imsa.com

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday-Saturday, Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio. Late Model: Thursday, Hibbing Raceway, Hibbing, Minnesota; Saturday, Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minnesota. Online: http://www.worldofoutlaws.com

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Friday, Gas City I-69, Gas City, Indiana; Saturday, Kokomo Speedway, Kokomo, Indiana; Sunday, Lawrenceburg Speedway, Lawrenceburg, Indiana. Online: http://www.usacracing.com

Update hourly