SHS students named state champs at HOSA State Leadership Conference

March 23, 2019

SCOTTSBLUFF — The Scottsbluff High School HOSA Chapter attended the Nebraska HOSA State Leadership Conference at the University of Nebraska Medical Center this past week and were named champions for the fourth consecutive year.

The Scottsbluff HOSA CPR teams competed against 37 teams, including eight college teams. The three Scottsbluff teams swept the CPR contest, placing first, second and third.

The team of Shelby Bewly and Brooke DeSha finished in first place for their CPR project. Rianda Bounds and Halle Shaddick were second and Neveah McBride and Maddie Johnston were third.

In addition to the CPR contest, students competed in AED and first aid as well as created an extemporaneous health poster, a health career display and competed in medical math.

Thirty-five teams, including two college teams, competed in the health career display. Scottsbluff’s Josie Amoo and Halle Shaddick won the contest for the second consecutive year.

In the medical math contest, Morgan Mickey finished in second place for the second consecutive year.

Amoo also competed in the extemporaneous health poster contest. She competed against 32 other students. Amoo was named the first place winner for the second consecutive year.

Amoo also won first place in the state pin design. The pin will be distributed around the globe at the International HOSA conference in June. Amoo’s pin will represent the state of Nebraska for all HOSA Chapters.