Related topics

Mexico 3, Honduras 0

April 12, 1993

MEXICO CITY (AP) _ Mexico defeated Honduras 3-0 in a rough qualifying game Sunday for a berth in the 1994 World Cup.

Before a crowd of some 120,000 at Aztec Stadium, yellow cards abounded. The Mexicans played most of the game with only 10 players after Miguel Herrera was ejected in the 27th minute for kicking a Honduran player.

The Mexicans opened the scoring in the ninth minute on a spectacular header by Luis Flores. Hugo Sanchez made it 2-0 with a penalty kick in the 76th minute and Ignacio Ambriz completed the scoring with a rocket shot in the last minute.

The victory enabled Mexico to move up in the round-robin group that includes El Salvador and Canada.

El Salvador leads the division after defeating Mexico 2-1 at San Salvador a week ago, when Honduras tied Canada 2-2 at Tegucigalpa.

The winner of the round for teams from the Caribbean and North and Central America enters next year’s 24-nation final in the United States. The runner-up will play the second-place team from the Oceania group for a second CONCACAF berth.

Sunday’s victory allowed Mexico to move up in the round robin that includes El Salvador and Canada, scheduled to play their return match later Sunday in Vancouver, B.C.

El Salvador is ahead thus far in points after defeating Mexico last Sunday 2-1 in San Salvador, when Honduras tied Canada 2-2 in Tegucigalpa.

The winner of the round goes into next year’s final. The runner up will have to play against the second best team in the Oceania round for a second berth.

An estimated 120,000 fans crowded Mexico City’s giant Aztec stadium to the rafters.


Mexico - Jorge Campos, Miguel Herrera (expelled 27), Claudio Suarez, Ramon Ramirez, Juan de Dios Ramirez Perales, Ignacio Ambriz, Alberto Garia Aspe, David Patino (Raul Gutierrez 27), Luis Flores (Benjamin Galindo), Hugo Sanchez y Luis Garcia.

Coach - Miguel Mejia Baron.

Honduras - Belarmino Rivera, Arnold Cruz, Gilberto Yearwood, Raul Martinez Sambula, Juan Castro, Mauricio Funez (Cesar Obando, 41) , Richardson Smith, Luis Calix, Jose Fernandez, Dolmo Flores y Nicolas Suazo (Juan Flores 57).

Coach - Luis Estanislao Malinowsky.

Refree - Ronald Gutierrez (Costa Rica).

Update hourly