Related topics

NZ wins toss, bats in 1st T20 vs. West Indies

January 11, 2014

AUCKLAND, New Zealand (AP) — New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat Saturday in the first of two Twenty20 cricket internationals against the West Indies.

Captain Brendon McCullum said the used pitch at Eden Park might slow later in the match and he was eager for his batsmen to set a demanding total.

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo said he also would have batted first but had faith in a bowling lineup which includes three frontline spinners. The tourists named spinners Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine and Samuel Badree in their lineup and indicated Badree might share the new ball.

New Zealand made one change to its lineup, naming fast bowler Adam Milne in place of Mitchell McClenaghan.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Jimmy Neesham, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Adam Milne.

West Indies: Kieran Powell, Johnson Charles, Chadwick Walton, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo (captain), Andre Russell, Andre Fletcher, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Tino Best, Samuel Badree.

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney and Derek Walker, New Zealand.

Third umpire: Gary Baxter, New Zealand. Match referee: Chris Broad, England.

Update hourly