Related topics

Sport Shorts

April 9, 1987

TAIPEI, Taiwan (AP) _ Fifth-seeded Dede Suhendar of Indonesia upset top-seeded Carl Chang of San Diego 1-6, 6-4, 6-0 Thursday, advancing to the semifinals of the 1987 Taipei International Junior Tennis Championship.

Joining Suhendar in the semifinals at the Taipei City Tennis Court are compatriot Daniel Herianto, who beat Ryuso Tsujino of Japan 6-2, 6-3, second- seeded Michael Chang of San Diego, who ousted Robert Angelo of the Philippines 6-2, 7-5, and John Marinov of Australia, who defeated Lai Chun-min of Taiwan 6-1, 6-1.

In girls’ singles quarterfinals, unseeded Erika Kajitani of Japan upset top-seeded Yayuk Basuki of Indonesia 6-4, 0-6, 6-3 and Wang Shi-ting of Taiwan defeated Ryoko Yamaguchi of Japan 6-1, 2-6, 6-2.

Also advancing into the semifinals were second-seeded Jennifer Saberon of the Philippines, who beat Claudine Toleafoa of New Zealand 6-1, 6-7 (1-7), 6-4, and Sarah Rafael of the Philippines, who beat Eva-Lena Olsson of Sweden 6-3, 6-1.


MILWAUKEE (AP) - Steve Antrim, an assistant basketball coach at Iowa State for the last four years, was named Thursday as head coach in the sport at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Antrim, 39, formerly was head coach at St. Michael’s College in Vermont for four years and at Lake Forest College in Illinois for three years.

He succeeds Ray Swetalla, who resigned.


PESARO, Italy (AP) - Scavolini Pesaro defeated Treacer of Milan, the European basketball champion, 101-92 in their return-match of the Italian basketball playoff quarterfinals Wednesday night.

A third match on Saturday will decide which team qualifies for the semifinals. The Milanese team had won the first-leg match last Sunday.


OYIN, Spain (AP) - Ireland’s Sean Kelly won the fourth stage of the 27th tour of the Basque country cycling race in a strong final sprint Thursday.

His countryman Martin Early remained the overall leader in the five-day race.

Kelly covered the 103 miles between Vera de Bidasoa and Oyin in a time of four hours, 12 minutes and 56 seconds, at an average speed of 24 mph.

Then came Frank Hoste, Netherlands; Acacio Da Silva, Portugal; and Pello Ruiz Cabestany, Spain, all at the same time as the winner.

Early led the general standings with 18:17:38, followed by Da Silva, eight seconds behind, and Kelly, 16 seconds behind.

Update hourly