Related topics

Cywinski Wins Badgerland 150, First Rookie to Take Consecutive ASA Titles

August 26, 1996

WEST ALLIS, Wis. (AP) _ Kevin Cywinski became the first rookie in American Speed Association history to win consecutive events Sunday, edging Tony Raines by 0.213 seconds in the Badgerland 150.

Cywinski of Lakeville, Minn., coming off a victory at Anderson, Ind., started from the pole and led three times for a total of 37 laps on the Milwaukee Mile. He averaged 83.102 mph in his Chevrolet Monte Carlo.

Dave Sensiba was third, followed by Mike Garvey and Bob Senneker. Scott Hansen finished ninth to take a 29-point lead over Gary St. Amant in the season standings. St. Amant was 15th.