Related topics

BC-BKH--NC AP All-State Ballot, 5 Takes

April 8, 2019

Following are the North Carolina prep basketball players and coaches nominated for The Associated Press 2018-19 postseason honors.

Please select ONE PLAYER OF THE YEAR AND ONE COACH OF THE YEAR FOR BOTH MEN AND WOMEN. Note that your selection for player of the year must be on your all-state team.


Please choose only from the list of nominees. Write-in votes will not be counted. If there are any all-state caliber players left off the ballot, please contact Joedy McCreary immediately at jmccreary@ap.org.

Ballots are due no later than THURSDAY, APRIL 11 BY 3 P.M. Please email ballots directly to McCreary at jmccreary@ap.org.

The AP will release its all-state teams and award winners on Friday, April 12.

Please contact McCreary by email if you have questions.

Thanks in advance for your cooperation.




JOE BADGETT, Matthews Carmel Christian _ Led team to 29-3 record and NCISAA state title against one of the toughest schedules in the state in his first season. He took over for Byron Dinkins, who took an assistant’s job at Charlotte after leading the school to its first state title.

CHRIS CHERRY, Greenville South Central _ Led team to 27-1 record and the NCHSAA 4-A championship. Team earned a No. 6 ranking in USA Today high school top 25. Area coach of year.

CHRIS DAVIS, Raleigh Millbrook _ Led team to 27-2 record and conference championship. Team advanced to NCHSAA 4-A East Regional final.

CASEY ROGERS, Morganton Freedom _ Led school to 28-3 record and NCHSAA 3-A West Regional semifinals. Went 14-0 in conference play to win league championship. Conference coach of the year.

GUY SHAVERS, Southwest Guilford _ Led school to second NCHSAA title in three years, winning the 3-A title after claiming the 4-A championship in 2017. Team finished 32-0 and the 67-60 victory over Burlington Williams in the title game was the only game Southwest Guilford did not win by more than 11 points. Team averaged more than 83 points with an average margin of victory of 30 points. Shavers kept the team together after Dez Woods, who would have been a senior on this year’s team, was killed in a car crash in 2017.

JOSH THOMPSON, Kernersville Bishop McGuinness _ Coached team to 24-8 record and NCHSAA 1-A championship, beating Henderson Collegiate in the title game for the school’s first state title since 2009. Area men’s coach of year.

CHAD WILLIAMS, Kill Devil Hills First Flight _ Led team to 20-9 record and 8-2 mark in conference play. Guided team to first conference tournament title, and to the third round of the NCHSAA 2-A playoffs. Also led the Good Guys vs. Cancer Basketball Showcase at the school in December. Inspired by his father, who died of cancer in December, the event raised $8,000 for cancer research.

LARRY WILLIFORD, Farmville Central _ Led school to NCHSAA 2-A title and an undefeated season.


CRYSTAL BARTLETT, East Burke _ Led school to 24-6 record, 12-0 mark in conference play and league regular-season and tournament titles in her fourth season. Conference coach of the year.

RACHEL CLARK, Southeast Guilford _ Guided team to its first state championship and a 28-3 record with nine players on the roster and none taller than 5-9. Beat Waxhaw Cuthbertson 55-49 in NCHSAA Class 3-A title game.

BRITTANY COX, West Forsyth _ Led school to 27-3 record and NCHSAA 4-A championship in her fourth year as coach. Area coach of the year.

PATRICK DALY, Cary _ Led team to 20-9 record and a 10-0 finish in conference play. Team advanced to NCHSAA 4-A East Regional finals.

HOLLIS HARPER, Farmville Central _ Led team to 27-1 record, a 10-0 mark in league play and an undefeated regular season with an average margin of victory of 36.6 points. Team had only two seniors on the roster.

AMBER REDDICK, Morganton Freedom _ Led school to 30-2 record, 14-0 mark in conference play, and league regular-season and tournament titles in her 15th season.

APRIL ROSE, Pamlico County _ Led school to 29-2 record and the NCHSAA 1-A championship. Area coach of year.

SYLVIA WHITE, Newton-Conover _ Coach of school’s state championship team in 1992 returned to lead team to 25-5 record and a first-place finish in the conference. Won 24 straight games following a 1-4 start before losing in third round of NCHSAA 2A playoffs. County coach of year.