Turnout up 1,000 votes from 2014 in Dodge County

November 8, 2018

About 1,400 more voters turned out in Dodge County this year than the most recent midterm elections.

In 2018, voters cast 38,018 ballots, while in 2014, voters cast 36,962 ballots. The 2018 ballot total is about 87 percent of the 43,759 cast in 2016, a presidential year.

County Clerk Karen Gibson said that because of the large turnout, some municipalities didn’t begin counting their absentee ballots until after polls closed, which led to a bit of a late night.

Democrat Tony Evers unseated Republican Gov. Scott Walker, but did not carry Dodge County. Walker received more than 62 percent of the county vote, while Evers received a bit under 36 percent. Evers did win the most votes in every precinct in the city of Beaver Dam.

Likewise, although Democratic Sen. Tammy Baldwin retained her seat, she received only 43 percent of the vote in Dodge County to Leah Vukmir’s 57 percent. Baldwin did win the city of Beaver Dam.

Dodge County Sheriff Dale Schmidt, who won the Republican primary against Jim Ketchem over the summer, ran unopposed and won over 97 percent of the vote. There were 833 write-in votes in the sheriff’s race.

Due to the state’s decision to allow the village of Kekoskee to combine with the town of Williamstown into a village of Williamstown, their votes were counted together in this election. The state’s decision is currently under legal appeal by the city of Mayville.

Update hourly