Related topics

Tiger Woods Wins Vardon Trophy

November 9, 1999

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (AP) _ Tiger Woods, who had a score of par or better in 60 of his 75 rounds on the PGA Tour this year, won his first Vardon Trophy by setting a record for lowest adjusted scoring average at 68.43.

The previous record was 68.81, set by Greg Norman in 1994.

The Vardon Trophy is awarded annually by the PGA of America to the player with the lowest scoring average. Woods became only the 11th player to win the Vardon Trophy and Player of the Year in the same season.

Since 1988, the PGA has adjusted the scoring average to measure a player’s performance against the rest of the field. For example, Woods’ final-round 68 to win the American Express Championship was adjusted to 64 because of how the rest of the field played at Valderrama Golf Club on Sunday.

David Duval finished second in the Vardon Trophy standings at 69.17, followed by Davis Love III at 69.37.

Woods previously clinched player of the year, which is based on points. The PGA Tour’s honor, which will be announced later, is determined by a players’ vote.

Woods, 23, capped off one of the greatest seasons in modern golf by becoming the first players since Ben Hogan in 1953 to win four straight tournaments, and the first since Johnny Miller in 1974 to win eight PGA Tour events in one year.

Update hourly