Auto racing: Madsen rules the nationals at Deer Creek

September 18, 2018

SPRING VALLEY — Kerry Madsen knows what it takes to have a fast car at Deer Creek.

The veteran Sprint Car driver from Knoxville, Iowa, had the second-fastest qualifying time last summer when he raced at Deer Creek in the World of Outlaws’ Clash at The Creek.

Saturday, there was no one faster. Madsen recorded the fastest lap in qualifying then won his heat race and beat fellow vet racer Terry McCarl to the checkers at Deer Creek to win the 30-lap IRA 410 Sprint Cars A Main during the inaugural Open Wheel Nationals.

The victory continued a string of success for the Madsen family at the track. Kerry’s brother Ian won a World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series race at Deer Creek in 2015.

McCarl finished second on Saturday, followed by Lynton Jeffrey from Prairie City, Iowa. Justin Henderson (Tea, S.D.) and Skyler Gee (Leduc, Alberta) rounded out the top five.

• James Broty of Lonsdale won the 20-car, UMSS 360 Winged Sprint Cars A Main. Broty started fourth, but got past pole-sitter Roger Crockett, Chase Viebrock and Jan Agan to earn the victory. Broty also won his heat race, to earn the clean sweep on Saturday night.


A Main — 1. Kerry Madsen (Knoxville, Iowa); 2. Terry McCarl (Altoona, Iowa); 3. Lynton Jeffrey (Prairie City, Iowa); 4. Justin Henderson (Tea, S.D.); 5. Skyler Gee (Leduc, Alberta, Canada); 6. Matt Juhl (Tea, S.D.); 7. Bill Balog (North Pole, Alaska); 8. Scott Bogucki (McLaren Vale, Australia); 9. Brooke Tatnell (San Souci, New South Wales, Australia); 10. Scotty Thiel (Sheboygan, Wis.); 11. Jake Blackhurst (Hanna City, Ill.); 12. Ben Schmidt (Howards Grove, Wis.); 13. Scott Neitzel (Beaver Dam, Wis.); 14. Jeremy Schultz (Beaver Dam, Wis.); 15. Carson McCarl (Altoona, Iowa); 16. Skylar Prochaska (Lakefield); 17. Colin Smith (Sheldon, Iowa); 18. Russel Borland (Kewaskum, Wis.); 19. Austin McCarl (Altoona, Iowa); 20. Sawyer Phillips (Pleasantville, Iowa); 21. Ryan Bowers (Ham Lake); 22. Mike Reinke (Howards Grove, Wis.); 23. Travis Whitney (Blaine); 24. Scott Uttech (New Berlin, Wis.).

B Main winner — Bogucki.

Heat winners — Madsen, Balog, Blackhurst, Gee.

Qualifying quick time — Madsen (12.037-second lap).


A Main — 1. James Broty (Lonsdale); 2. Roger Crockett (Broken Arrow, Okla.); 3. Bill Balog (North Pole, Alaska); 4. Brooke Tatnell (San Souci, NSW, Australia); 5. Jon Agan (Knoxville, Iowa); 6. John Schulz (West Burlington, Iowa); 7. Chris Martin (Ankeny, Iowa); 8. Ryan Bickett (Ramona, S.D.); 9. Chase Viebrock (New Richmond, Wis.); 10. Tommy Barber (Brandon, S.D.); 11. Tasker Phillips (Pleasantville, Iowa); 12. Derrik Lusk (Jackson); 13. Justin Henderson (Tea, S.D.); 14. Chris Graf (Glencoe); 15. Jason Tostenson (Glencoe); 16. Carter Chevalier (Andover); 17. Ryan Bowers (Ham Lake); 18. Reed Allex (St. Cloud); 19. Geoff Dodge (Colorado Springs, Colo.); 20. Jamey Ogston (Duluth).

Dash winner — 1. Crockett, 2. Viebrock, 3. Agan, 4. Broty, 5. Dodge, 6. Phillips.

Heat winners — Viebrock, Agan, Broty.

Update hourly